I know the aforementioned topic is not everybody’s cup of tea, more so if dissertation and thesis writers are among the ‘everybody’, but I will be lying if I say I am bothered by that. This is for the simple reason that I know for a fact that it is true that all undergraduates are the same. The similitude is not in the character traits of the undergraduates-of course in that case they can never be the same-but rather as concerns their career prospects. It hurts but it is true that for the most part the career prospects of a student who undertook law in campus is not very different from that of the one who took a business course, say Bachelor of Commerce or an Engineering course.

It may not appear realistic if you haven’t been keen in the job market but the reality couldn’t be closer to the truth. I personally speak from personal experience because what I do in the job market is very different from what I studied in campus. I studied Electrical engineering in the university but believe it or not I am now pursuing a career in medical technology. I also happen to work on part-time in a law firm.

If that did not shock you enough then consider that my best friend who did the same course as I in campus is now working for the United Nations in the public relations department. The short and long of this story is that all undergraduates are the same , or better still there is none of them that is better than the other when it comes to the job market. I know while in campus there are some students that like chest thumping and feeling smug about their courses and how nice they think they are; for all I care to know I would rather they refrained from that because any student can end up doing what they are studying in the job market and vice-versa.

